Our research

UBC - Chair of Environmental Biology and Chemodynamics

ESA - Department of Ecosystem Analysis

 

Effects and Monitoring

Anthropogenic and natural pollutants  often result in adverse effects on different levels of biological organisation – from molecules to ecosystems. We are developing test systems in order to assess both acute and mechanism-specific toxicity as well as chronic toxicity caused by chemicals in different environmental compartments, as water, sediment and soil. These are investigated by in vitro methods, various test species , populations and communities in lab- and field-based systems. Monitoring of effects and integrated strategies are also topics in our research. The observed effects are used for the extrapolation of environmental risks.

Modelling and Simulation

Modelling and simulation play an important role in the effort of structural study of ecological systems. In environmental risk analysis different kinds of techniques are used to model spatial and temporal dynamics. Simulation models are able to depict and predict concentration-dependent effects and their extent on individuals, populations and communities. In individual-based simulation we use process-based models based on the life-cycle of individuals, in statistic modelling approaches the model structure is developed in a data-based inductive way.

Fate and Remediation

The exposure of organisms with environmental contaminants is directly linked to the properties of the environmental matrix and the physico-chemical properties and the fate of such chemicals. In this area of our research we study, therefore, the metabolism, bioavailability, binding and formation of non-extractable residues of the pollutants in soil, water-sediment, and plants. In addition we develop remediation technologies of polluted sites, e.g. by phytoremediation.

Unsere Forschung

Effekte und Monitoring

Anthropogene und natürliche Schadstoffe resultieren oftmals  in adversen Effekten  auf verschiedenen Skalenebenen – vom Molekül bis hin zum Ökosystem.  Wir entwickeln Testverfahren, um akute und Mechanismus-spezifische Toxizität sowie chronische Schädigung  durch Chemikalien und verschiedene Umweltkompartimente (Wasser, Sediment, Boden) zu ermitteln. Diese können mit in vitro-Verfahren, ausgewählten Testspezies, Laborpopulationen und Gemeinschaften in Labor- und Freilandmodellökosystemen untersucht werden. Effektmonitoring und integrierte Untersuchungsansätze stellen ebenfalls einen Schwerpunkt dar. Die beobachteten Effekte dienen der Extrapolation von Risiken für die Umwelt.

Modellierung und Simulation

Modellierung und Simulation spielen eine wichtige Rolle im Bemühen struktureller Erforschung ökologischer Systeme. In der Umweltrisikoanalyse werden verschiedene Arten von Techniken zur Modellierung räumlicher und zeitlicher Dynamiken eingesetzt. Simulationsmodelle sind in der Lage konzentrationsabhängige Effekte und deren Ausmaß auf Einzelindividuen, Populationen und Lebensgemeinschaften abzubilden und vorherzusagen. In der individuenbasierten Simulation nutzen wir prozessbasierte Modelle zum Lebenslauf von Einzelorganismen, in statistischen Modellierungsansätze entwickeln wir die Modellstrukturen datenbasiert auf induktivem Weg.

Verbleib und Sanierung

Die Exposition von Organismen mit umweltrelevanten Chemikalien wird neben den Eigenschaften der Umweltmatrix maßgeblich durch die stofflichen Parameter der Substanzen bestimmt. Dazu untersuchen wir Umwandlungsprozesse, Bioverfügbarkeit, Bindung und Bildung nicht-extrahierbarer Rückstände  solcher Chemikalien in Böden, Wasser-Sediment und Pflanzen. Zusätzlich wenden wir diese Kenntnisse zur Dekontamination, z.B. durch Phytoremediation, belasteter Ökosysteme an.