Chair of Environmental Biology and Chemodynamics



Department of Ecosystem Analysis


 Head of Institute

 Prof. Dr. Andreas Schäffer

  Prof. Dr. Henner Hollert



Dr. Martina Roß-Nickoll
(Community ecology and ecotoxicology)
Dr. Kilian Smith
(Environmental chemistry)
Dr. Richard Ottermanns
(Computational ecology)
Prof. Dr. Erwin Klumpp
(Umweltchemie, FZ Jülich)


Dr. Thomas-Benjamin Seiler
(Effect-related ecotoxicology)
Dr. Sabrina Schiwy
(Molecular and biomedical ecotoxicology)
Dr. Sarah Crawford
(Stress Ecology and Sediment toxicology)  
Dr. Beat Thalmann

PD Dr. Werner Brack 
(Effect-directed analysis, UFZ, Leipzig)

Department of Bioanalytical Ecotoxicology


Department of System-Ecotoxicology

Prof. Dr. Rolf Altenburger
(UFZ, Leipzig


Prof. Dr. Mattias Liess
(UFZ, Leipzig)


Aninstitut gaiac

Research institute for ecosystem analysis and assessment

gaiac was founded in 2003 as a spin-off of the Institute for Environmental Resarch
and cooperates in teaching and applied research